歷史與發展

於2013年,我們看見有需要在香港發展「無障牙科」,於是成立了「香港無障牙科學會有限公司」。

什麼是「無障牙科」

社會上有不少青少年和成年人受肢體殘障,智力發展遲緩,健康、情緒、感官、精神或社交障礙等因素影響,未能接受普通牙科治療。「無障牙科」就是要關顧這些人士,為他們提供適切的口腔護理服務,從而改善他們口腔健康。

「香港無障牙科學會」的歷史及其發展

由於香港沒有提供正規「無障牙科」培訓,在英國愛丁堡皇家醫學院牙科學院無障牙科專科委員會主席Dr Sarah Manton的建議下,「香港無障牙科學會」創會成員透過自學和海外專科專家幫忙去開展「無障牙科」。我們相信要在香港發展「無障牙科」,最穩妥的方法是為有「無障牙科」需要的病人提供口腔護理服務,從而獲取實踐經驗。按「香港無障牙科學會」訂下的願景和使命,我們將循兩大方向發展「無障牙科」:

  1. 為「無障牙科」的社群,成立「無障牙科」服務
  2. 為牙科業界及有關牙科醫護專業人士提供培訓,以應服務需求

香港「無障牙科」服務

食物及衞生局(食衞局)考慮到智障人士長期欠缺牙科服務,首先提出由私營市場為智障人士提供牙科服務的概念,於2013年初,「香港無障牙科學會」抓緊這個機遇,向食衞局提交建議書,與「香港牙科學會」及「播道醫院」合作,發展一項為期四年的「智障人士牙科服務先導計劃」。食衞局接受此建議書,並於2013年8月推出這先導計劃,命名為「盈愛.笑容服務」,由「播道醫院」為這計劃提供服務,「香港無障牙科學會」則提供「無障牙科」的專業意見。

 

至2014年中,「播道醫院」營運這先導計劃的情況有所變動,待至2014年10月底,「香港無障牙科學會」須接手此先導計劃的診症服務,而「盈愛.笑容基金有限公司」則為學會提供財務資助。就此,學會開啟了與「盈愛.笑容基金」的緊密合作,為有「無障牙科」需要人士發展及提供牙科服務。

 

於2015年5月,「盈愛.笑容基金」全面接手管理牙科診所,繼續營辦「無障牙科」服務,並與「香港無障牙科學會」簽訂了一份專業服務協議書,由「香港無障牙科學會」出任這牙科服務的管理人。

 

我們「無障牙科」服務的範疇亦慢慢擴展起來,自2013年至2016年,服務對象由智障人士增至精神病患者,至2017年更擴展至肢體殘障人士。

盈愛.笑容服務

「盈愛.笑容服務」是為智障人士提供牙科服務的一個先導計劃,由「香港無障牙科學會」及「香港牙醫學會」統籌,主要由「盈愛.笑容基金」於「盈愛無障牙科中心」提供服務,而播道醫院則為需作全身麻醉的治療個案提供手術室設施。「盈愛.笑容服務」自2013年8月推出,預算為期四年,但由於反應熱烈,獲延期一年至2018年7月13日,以便為所有在輪候冊上已登記的個案完成治療。此先導計劃由食衞局資助合資格人士的牙科治療費用。

 

先導計劃的合資格服務對象為18歲或以上的智障成人,並同時受惠於以下其中一項:

  1. 綜合社會保障援助(綜援);或
  2. 傷殘津貼(社會福利署發出);或
  3. 醫療費用豁免(醫院管理局發出)。

合資格智障人士,須經社福機構康復服務單位,例如智障人士院舍及展能中心,轉介至計劃的指定牙科診所,即「盈愛無障牙科中心」接受初步口腔檢查,之後按個別情況,安排他們接受所需牙科治療,於「盈愛無障牙科中心」主要以「行為管理」或「清醒鎮靜」的方法來進行牙科治療,又或者前往播道醫院接受「全身麻醉」的牙科治療。所有合資格智障人士可獲提供基本牙科治療。當完成治療後,診所更為照顧者提供口腔健康教育及口腔衛生指導,以便他們幫助病人保持口腔健康。

1. LSS earlier leaflet (no back page)
B2. LSS Leaflet-1

2016年底,「盈愛.笑容服務」先導計劃已達標成完成1,600個案,「香港無障牙科學會」亦向食衞局提交了評估報告。之後食衞局要求從2017年2月20日起,停止接收新症,但為要確保完成輪候冊上登記了的所有個案,食衞局於2017年7月再投入5百萬元,將服務順延至2018年6月30日。

 

為達致最多人從餘下的資助額中受益,食衞局批准「盈愛無障牙科中心」於2018年2月12起,重收新症,而這先導計劃亦再度獲延至2018年7月13日。

 

計劃完成後,共有約3,400 位智障人士登記使用這服務,近3,000人(88%)完成治療,約有400人(12%)退出。受惠於「盈愛.笑容服務」的病人中,超過1,850人透過「行為管理」接受治療,約 280人經由「清醒鎮靜」接受治療,差不多840人則進行「全身麻醉」的牙科治療。此服務受到智障人士家長及康復服務工作者的歡迎。

 

先導計劃取得成功,促使政府推出一項近似計劃。緊接著先導計劃,衞生署推出一個名為「護齒同行」的新項目,於2018年7月16日開始,為期3年,繼續為智障人士提供牙科服務。而新計劃中,病人可從多間非政府機構牙科診所中選擇一間接受服務。

最新動向

  • 由衞生署推出的「護齒同行」,是新一項為期三年為智障人士而設的牙科服務計劃...

History And Development

The Hong Kong Special Care Dentistry Association Limited (HKSCDA) began in 2013 when we saw the need to develop special care dentistry in Hong Kong.

What is Special Care Dentistry (SCD)

SCD concerns about the provision of oral care services for the improvement of oral health of adolescents and adults who are unable to receive routine dental care because of certain physical, intellectual, medical, emotional, sensory, mental or social impairment factors or a combination of more than one of these factors.

History and Development of HKSCDA

While there was no formal SCD training available in Hong Kong, upon the advice of Dr. Sarah Manton, Chair of the Specialty Board of SCD, Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Edinburgh, UK, the HKSCDA founders had a vision to develop SCD locally through a self-learning initiative with the support of professional experts overseas. We believe that gaining hands-on experience from the provision of oral care services to the special needs patients is the sure way to the development of SCD in Hong Kong.  And the development of SCD, based on our vision and missions, takes two main directions of actions: 1) the establishment of care services for the special care communities and 2) the training of dental professionals and ancillary dental professionals to meet the care needs.

Special care dental service in Hong Kong

In view of the long-neglected need for dental service for the persons with intellectual disability (PID), the Food and Health Bureau (FHB) initiated the idea of a dental service for the persons with intellectual disability (PID) to be delivered in the private sector.  In early 2013, the HKSCDA seized the opportunity and submitted a proposal, to FHB, for a four-year “Pilot Project on Dental Service for PID” in collaboration with the Hong Kong Dental Association and the Evangel Hospital (EH).  Upon the acceptance of the proposal, the Pilot Project was launched in August 2013.  It was named the Loving Smiles Service.  And EH was the service provider of the Project with HKSCDA as her professional advisor in SCD.

 

After mid-2014, circumstances of the EH operation of the Pilot Project changed and in late October 2014, HKSCDA had to take over the clinical service of the Pilot Project with the financial support from the Loving Smiles Foundation Limited (LSF).  This has set the beginning of a close partnership with the LSF in the development and provision of a dental service for persons requiring special care.

 

In May 2015 LSF had fully taken over the dental clinic to operate a special care dental service and HKSCDA became the manager of this dental service under a professional service agreement with the LSF.

 

The scope of special care dental service has gradually expanded from the PID in 2013 to the persons with mental health problems in 2016 and the persons with physical disabilities in 2017.

Loving Smiles Service (LSS)

LSS was a pilot project for dental service for the persons with intellectual disability (PID). It was organized by the HKSCDA and the Hong Kong Dental Association.  The Loving Smiles Foundation Limited was the main service provider through their Loving Smiles Special Care Dental Centre, while Evangel Hospital provided the operating theatre facility for treatment under general anesthesia.  LSS was launched in August 2013. It was planned for four years but owing to popular demand, the pilot was extended for one year till 13 July 2018 in order to complete the treatment of all the enrolled cases.  The FHB provided subsidy for the dental treatment costs for the eligible persons.

 

The eligible target for the pilot was adults aged 18 or above with intellectual disability, who are also receiving one of the following benefits:

  1. Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) or
  2. Disability Allowance from the Social Welfare Department or
  3. medical fees waiver issued by the Hospital Authority.

The eligible PID needed to be referred by their rehabilitation service units to the designated dental clinic, Loving Smiles Special Care Dental Centre, for initial check-up.  Then according to their individual conditions, they would then be arranged to receive their necessary dental treatment, through behavioral management or under conscious sedation in the Dental Centre or under general anesthesia (GA) at the Evangel Hospital.  Basic dental treatment was provided to all the eligible PID.  When treatment was completed, oral health education and oral hygiene instruction would be given to the caregivers to help them maintain the oral health of the patients.

1. LSS earlier leaflet (no back page)
B2. LSS Leaflet-1

By the end of 2016, HKSCDA submitted an evaluation report based on the 1,600 completed cases.  Owing to unanticipated circumstance, FHB called for a suspension of recruitment of new cases with effect from 20 February 2017.  However, in commitment to complete all the enrolled cases, FHB injected an addition of $5million in July 2017 with an extension of the service period until 30 June 2018.

 

In order to maximize the number of beneficiaries from the remaining fund, the recruitment of new cases was re-opened with effect from 12 February 2018 and the project period was further extended to 13 July 2018.

 

About 3,400 PID enrolled in the pilot. Nearly 3,000 (88%) had treatment completed and 400 (12%) dropped out of the scheme. Of those who benefited from LSS, over 1,850 were treated by behavioral management, about 280 under conscious sedation and about 840 under GA. The service was demonstrated to be well received by the parents and the rehabilitative care workers of the PID.

 

The success of the pilot had prompted the Government to launch a similar programme named “Healthy Teeth Collaboration” by the Department of Health immediately following the pilot, commencing on 16 July 2018, to continue providing dental service to the PID for another 3 years. But the patients in this new scheme can receive their service from a number of selected NGO dental clinics.

What’s New